Welcome to Mariefred
The tide of history characterizes the idyllic small town of Mariefred. Stroll along small alleys with charming 18th century houses. Go shopping in the charming boutiques and sit down in one of the cosy cafées or restaurants.
The stately castle from the era of the Vasa kings stands on an islet in Lake Mälaren and is popular with visitors.
Wander through the many beautiful rooms at your own pace or join a guided tour. The most interesting things to see in the castle include Duke Karl´s chamber, Gustav III´s theatre and the Swedish state portrait collection.
Gripsholm Castle web-site
Narrow Gauge Railway
The steam train chugs along the narrow gauge track between Mariefred and Taxinge Näsby in high season.
Travel on a train pulled by a genuine steam locomotive on the narrowest track ever used for public train services. Between May and September, the trains runs from Mariefred to Läggesta and Taxinge Näsby.
Narrow Gauge Railway web-site
S/S Mariefred "Maja", is a living part of Sweden´s cultural heritage.
It was built in 1903 to operate between Stockholm and Mariefred. At weekends and on Wednesdays in summer, she also goes to Taxinge, whitch has a castle well known for it´s cakes.
S/S Mariefred web-site
Castles & Steam
Board the charming steamboat Mariefred, witch will take you on the "cake tour" to the famous cake table at Taxinge Castle.
A gallery that works mainly with artist who are resent graduated of Sweden´s major art colleges and schools.
The well-preserved town centre features many small shops, restaurants and cafés.
Callanderska gården, Homestead Museum
A dyer´s house in Mariefred dating from the 1780s with a beutiful garden.
The church was completed in 1701 and is a typical building from the days when Sweden was a great power.
Some call it the “queens’ church” as queens Christina, widow of Karl IX, and Hedvig Eleonora, widow of Karl X, both contributed funds to the building of a church on the hill by Lake Mälaren.
Kärnbo Church Ruins
The church was built at the end of the 12th century.
Abandoned when the new churchwas completed in 1624.
It was preserved in the 1920s. A rune stone from the 11th century is built in to the wall of the church porch.
Kurt Tucholsky (1890 – 1935)
Kurt Tucholsky was a German journalist and social critic who lived in Mariefred for a short time.
He was so delighted that the latter wrote the book Schloss Gripsholm, a love story. He is buried in Mariefreds cemetery and the tomb is visited each year by many Germans.